We had a bedtime ritual w our Golden Elly, her favorite part of the day. She’d dance and shake her tail as though it would fall off. She’d come to the front of the kitchen island and sit pretty and the closer the better. I’d waive her back and she’d scoot 2 inches, next scoot 1 inch and last scoot hardly at but she’d shake her body just to fool me. I’d lob one calcium booster treat, she’d catch it and we’d all (well me anyway) say a very sing-song “YAY!!”

It wasn’t long before our female cat Nala came to join. She loved the commotion and my sing-song voice, would purr and turn circles on her tippy toes. So of course we began to do a “Yay!” for Nala too.

Last night I walked thru the fifth wheel just before bed and saw Nala standing on the table on her tippy toes, turning circles and staring at me with a hopeful look in her eyes. Elly had passed several months ago and in our grief, we had forgotten abt Nala’s ritual. Had she been sitting here at night since Elly passed and we were oblivious? I felt sorry. So I started my YAY! sing-song w her and she was spinning and very happy. With the world set right again, I went to bed wondering if she missed Elly. I sure do.

Leave a comment